(Don’t Fear) The Reaper – Blue Öyster Cult (1978)


  • £5.45 Mainland UK Standard Delivery - get it within 5 days
  • £12.95 UK Special Delivery - get it within 2 days (orders before 12.00)
  • International delivery available

Enter Your Message Below

An individual, limited edition, example of vinyl art made from a genuine, original, 45rpm, 7” single featuring the  single, (Don’t Fear) The Reaper by the American Rock band, Blue Oyster Cult. The record was released in 1976, on the CBS record label and has been reworked into the shape of the Grim Reaper.

Presented in a black wooden box frame
Limited Edition of 100, signed and numbered by myself, the artist

Title: (Don’t Fear) The Reaper
Media Artist/s: Blue Oyster Cult
Record Label: CBS
Medium: Mixed media, hand cut from an original 7″ vinyl single
Era: 1970s
Genre: Rock / Classic Rock

Use these 'Tags' below to help navigate around the website:

SKU: BOC_DFTR_1 Categories: , , ,


Additional information about this, Blue Öyster Cult vinyl art.

Blue Öyster Cult – The Artist

Blue Öyster Cult (Sometimes abbreviated BÖC or BOC) is an American hard rock band formed on Long Island in Stony Brook, New York, in 1967. The band has sold 25 million records worldwide, including 7 million in the United States.[ The band’s fusion of hard rock with psychedelia, and penchant for occult, fantastical and tongue-in-cheek lyrics, had a major influence on heavy metal music. They developed a cult following and, while achieving mainstream hits like “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” (1976) and “Burnin’ for You” (1981), their commercial success was limited. Both songs, and others such as “Godzilla” (1977), remain classic rock radio staples. The band were early adopters of the music video format, and their videos received heavy rotation on MTV in its early period. Blue Öyster Cult continued to make studio albums and tour throughout the 1980s, although their popularity had declined such that they were dropped from their longtime label CBS/Columbia Records, following the commercial failure of their eleventh studio album Imaginos (1988). Other than contributing to the soundtrack of the 1992 film Bad Channels and an album of re-recorded material, Cult Classic, in 1994, the band continued as a live act until releasing their first studio album of original material in ten years, Heaven Forbid (1998). The lackluster sales of Curse of the Hidden Mirror (2001) led to another hiatus from studio recording, but they continued performing live within the next decade-and-a-half. Two more studio albums were released in the 2020s, The Symbol Remains (2020) and Ghost Stories (2024), the latter of which is said to be the band’s last. Blue Öyster Cult’s longest-lasting and the most commercially successful lineup included Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser (lead guitar, vocals), Eric Bloom (lead vocals, “stun guitar”, keyboards, synthesizer), Allen Lanier (keyboards, rhythm guitar), Joe Bouchard (bass, vocals, keyboards), and Albert Bouchard (drums, percussion, vocals, miscellaneous instruments). 

(Don’t Fear) The Reaper – The Song

(Don’t Fear) The Reaper  is a song by American rock band Blue Öyster Cult from the band’s 1976 album Agents of Fortune. The song, written and sung by lead guitarist Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser, deals with eternal love and the inevitability of death. Dharma wrote the song while picturing an early death for himself. Released as an edited single (omitting the slow building interlude in the original), the song is Blue Öyster Cult’s highest chart success.

The Grim Reaper – The Shape

This record has been modelled into the shape of the Grim Reaper. The Grim Reaper is a figure that represents death —usually a skeletal figure, who is often shrouded in a dark, hooded robe and carrying a scythe to “reap” human souls.

Need Help?  Contact Us

Additional information

Weight 1030 g
Dimensions 25 × 4.5 × 25 cm
Artist Formation

Group / Band








There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.